Osun Assembly Inaugurated


Osun State 7th House of Assembly was inaugurated penultimate Thursday   with the members electing Hon. Timothy Owoeye as  the 5th Speaker to be produced in the state.  His rival for the speakership position,  Babatunde Olatunji who is a brother to popular actor, Damola Olatunji  was named the  Chief Whip , Hon. Popoola Femi  from  Boripe Boluwaduro  is the  Deputy Speaker, Alhaji  Nasiru Olateju, is the Osun  Central Senatorial Whip  while  Maruf Olanrewaju  aka ‘Larry J’  from  Irewole/ Isokan is the  Majority Leader.    Hon. Kunle Akande  of  Olorunda state constituency  is  the  Deputy Majority Leader while Hon.  Babajide Kofoworola, Ede North state constituency is the  Minority Leader.   The House of Assembly comprises of 26 members with the ruling party, the APC, having 23 members while the PDP has three members.  Global Excellence gathered that former governor Rauf Aregbesola  was the one who suggested Owoeye for the speakership position and insisted on his emergence as head of the legislative arm of government.  Owoeye is an old face in the progressives camp in the state, he was in July, 2007 ordered to be remanded in Ile-Ife Federal Prison by an Osogbo Magistrate court over allegations of conspiracy and arson barely 24 hours after he was elected as the Minority Leader of the house. Owoeye  who has been a member of the state House of Assembly since 2007 is  a fourth term member and the most high ranking member of the House of Assembly.