Lagos East Senatorial Seat; Bush Alebiosu, Ambode Top List of Possible Replacement *by Ajayi Adekunle

Lagos East Senatorial Seat; Bush Alebiosu, Ambode Top List of Possible Replacement *by Ajayi Adekunle

Dayo Bush

The transition

Residents of Lagos East Senatorial District were taken by shock when the death of Senator Bayo Sikiri Osinowo was announced on Monday 15th June, 2020. The demise of the experienced parliamentarian has no doubt left huge vacuum to fill in the senatorial district.

Early mourners at his residence at Ogudu GRA, Ogudu have continuously reiterated the huge gap created by the demise of the lawmaker.

Meanwhile, the Lagos State chapter of the APC has described the death of Senator Pepperito has painful and heart breaking.

APC National Leader, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu has described his death as sudden. In his words “He was more than a close friend and political associate. Over the years he became like a family member and brother in so many ways.

The Jostle

The jostle for the replacement of the senatorial seat hitherto occupied by late Senator Bayo Osinowo has earnestly begun. He represented Lagos East Senatorial District under the All Progressives Congress (APC). As at the time of filing this report, sources said no fewer than six names from the Lagos East Senatorial District have been mentioned. This has spurred political machineries into quick calculations. Several unofficial meetings allegedly held across the district were not unconnected to the replacement of the deceased senator.

Political pundits have however started considering a qualitative representation  for the district at the Red Chambers. Prominent amongst the various names gathered were

– Two term lawmaker and  a third term seeker
Senator Gbenga Ashafa

– Serving Minister of State for Health,
Senator Olorunmibe Mamora

– Governor’s Advisory Council member
Chief Lanre Rasak

– Former House of Representative Member
Honourable Dayo Bush Alebiosu

Former Lagos State Governor
Akinwunmi Ambode.
Others are

– One time aspirant,
Otunba Anifowoshe Dengel

– Serving House of Rep Member from Ikorodu Federal Constituency
Honourable Jimi Benson.

Apart Otunba Anifowoshe and Chief Lanre Rasak who are both politically inclined but inexperienced in the business of law-making, political pundits have rated high the quadruple of Gbenga Ashafa, Olurunimbe Mamora, Dayo-Bush Alebiosu and Jimi Benson boast of enough experience with remarkable representation at the National Assembly from different time under the district.

However, with Mamora currently serving as the Minister of State for Health, Jimi Benson presently superintending over the House Committee on Defence and Gbenga Ashafa has had two complete terms at the Red Chambers, the arrow pointer seems to be directed towards  Dayo-Bush Alebiosu, a course graduate of Strategic Leadership from Harvard University and may be perhaps Akinwunmi Ambode, whom many believes has slim chance due to how he was confrontational when he was not given second term ticket my the Party last year, 2019.

The 90 days open window is however long enough to determine who gets the nod.