Former Speaker, Babatunde Mohammed, Emerges Kwara PDP New Chairman

Hon. Muhammed, giving his acceptance speech

Former Speaker of the Kwara state House of Assembly, Hon Babatunde Mohammed has been elected as Chairman of the Kwara state chapter of the PDP.


Delegates to the state congress who gathered at the Atlantic Event Palace, Ilorin on Saturday zeroed the choice of new chairman on the former speaker.


A former member of the state house of assembly , who had also served as Chief Whip, Hon Umaru Gunu was elected as new Deputy Chairman.


Former Commissioner for Special Duties, Alhaji Razaq Lawal emerged as state Secretary while the Publicity Secretary, Mr. Tunde Ashaolu retained his position.
Others include Bisi Fakayode, chairman, Kwara South Senatorial zone, Baba Jimoh, chairman, Kwara North Senatorial Zone , Alhaja Balikis Oniyangi – Organizing Secretary and Comrade Dan Iyan – Youth Leader.



Former Senate President, Dr Abubakar Bukola Saraki, who participated in the congress , has asked the new state PDP officials and other party members to ‘set to work’ and take necessary steps to ensure Kwara becomes a PDP-controlled state in 2023.



‘You should begin to work in earnest to ensure overall victory for the party at the 2023 general election.
As soon as you leave this venue, work should begin. The peaceful conduct of this congress has confirmed to me that we are indeed ready to take back power in Kwara’ he said.



Chairman, Kwara state PDP Congress Committee, Hon John Akwarashi, said he was happy to note that the information available to the committee that Kwara had chosen the ‘consensus’ method was eventually confirmed.



‘It is clear that this choice of party officials are the choice of the majority of the party members’ he said.



Giving his acceptance speech, Hon Babatunde Mohammed said he was not unaware of the task ahead and that he was ready to do the needful.
‘We will start work from the grassroots and walk our way up.
We will use the next local government elections to tell Kwara people that we are back’ he said.


Party leaders that participated in the congress include former governor Abdulfatah Ahmed, Senator Rafiu Ibrahim, former Sports minister, Mallam Bolaji Abdullahi , former members of the House of Representatives; Razak Atunwa, Zakari Mohammed, Abubakar Kanike and Ahmad Ali , former Commissioner for Lands and Housing, Hajia Nimota Ibrahim and Ambassador Gana Issa.