#EndSARS: National Human Rights Commission Set Up Panel for Human Rights Violations, Calls for Petitions, Complaints

#EndSARS: National Human Rights Commission Sets Up Panel for Human Rights Violations, Calls for Petitions, Complaints


In response to the nationwide agitations by Nigerian youth to scrap the Federal Special Anti-Robbery Squad (FSARS), the National Human Rights Commission has constituted an 11-man Independent Investigative Panel (IIP) to look into allegations of human rights violations against the defunct SARS and other units of the force.

In a statement signed by the Commission’s Assistant Director for Public Affairs, Fatimah Mohammed Agwai, the Committee headed by a retired Justice of the Supreme Court, Justice Suleiman Galadima will hear petitions, complaints, and memoranda from Nigerians across the 36 states of the federation and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), and thereafter make recommendations to the federal government on how best to reform SARS and other units of the Police force.

She said the Panel was given the powers to refer any matter, in the course of their assignment to the Attorney General of the Federation, or that of a State for prosecution in accordance with the law.

Agwai said, ” the panel is empowered as well to make recommendations to government on measures to be taken in respect of operatives of defunct SARS or officers of the Nigerian Police Force, if any, found in violation of human rights of citizens and propose remedial steps that may enhance the professional conduct of defunct SARS operatives, any succeeding unit and other members of the Nigerian Police Force and any other recommendations that may be considered appropriate.”

Other members of the Panel are:
. Member – Abdulrahaman Yakubu
. Member – Yemi Ademolakun
. Member – Chioma Chuka
. Member – Prof. Ayo Atsenuwa
. Member – Tijani Mohammed
. Member – Dr. Uju Agomoh
. Member – DIG Ibrahim Lamorde
. Member – Dr. Garba Tetengi, SAN, mni
.Member – Feyikemi Abudu
.Member – John Aikpokpo Martins
.Secretary of the Panel – Hilary Ogbonna

Ojukwu also disclosed that all petitions, complaints, and memoranda must reach the Commission, which is the Secretariat of the Panel on or before 31 October, 2020.