Sharp Shooter FC, Agbado Emerged Winner Of The 1stTaiwo Afolabi U-17 Football Cup 2017



The 1st U-17 Taiwo Afolabi Cup was played to honour Dr. Taiwo Afolabi, Group Executive Vice Chairman of SIFAX Group, who clocked 55 recently.

The tournament was a partnership between SIFAX Group and the Lagos State Grassroots Soccer Association; he was represented by Executive Director, Finance, SIFAX Group, Mr. Mike Owope, Corporate Affairs Manager, SIFAX Group, Mr.  Olumuyiwa Akande and The General Manager SIFAX Shipping, Mr. Henry Ajoh. The event which kicked off on Saturday, 22nd April, 2017, took place at St. Paul Playing Ground Yaba, Lagos.

 On Sunday 21st May 2017, there was a final match between Sharp Shooter Agbado and Success Ace. The competition took place at Campus Mini Stadium Ajele, Lagos Island. The sharp shooter Agbado led by Coach Joseph Azuka, team captain, Apesin Babatunde, emerged 1st; Success Ace Mile 2 led by coach Ganiyu Agboola, team captain, Anthony Oshodi came 2nd; Magbon F.C Ajegunle led by Coach Samson Adekinwonsa, team captain Kehinde Olawore came 3rd and lastly Lenard star Oshodi led by Coach Oloto Olayemi, captain of the team, Yusuf Afeez took the 4th position.

The first runner up was given a sum of N500,000 while second runner up was given N300,000, the third runner up was given N200,000. Lastly, fourth runner up was given N100,000 to compensate for game well played.